Skip to main content

Board of Directors

Board of Directors  
Past President and Representative Assembly:
Lisa Villano
Lisa Villano,
Bering Strait School District
President and Representative Assembly:
 Aimee Smith
Aimee Smith-Rodriguez,
Special Education Service Agency
Vice President: Robyn Capp,
Fairbanks North Star Borough School District
Travis Cooper
Travis Cooper,
Kodiak Island Borough School District
Abigail Paul
Abigail Paul,
Fairbanks North Star Borough School District
Membership Chair:
Stephanie Napliotis
Stephanie Napliotis
CAN Representative:
Kenneth Gaylord
Kenneth Gaylord


Members At-Large
Phil Patterson (Webmaster)
Tara Maltby, University of Alaska Fairbanks (AK CEC Student Chapter)
Stephanie Whitman, Anchorage School District
Nathan Adams, Juneau School District
Robanne Standing, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District
Lori Mertes, Fairbanks Noerthstar Borough School District
Pamela Skogstad, CEC Consultant


About the Governance Structure

The Alaska chapter of CEC consists of general members who designate wanting to be a part of the chapter when they join the Council for Exceptional Children.  Membership is on an annual basis.  The Alaska chapter also consists of an elected and voluntary board of directors, which includes a president, past president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, membership chair, and a Children and Youth Action Network (CAN) representative.  The chapter may include adhoc committees and liaisons with other professional organizations.  These positions are created on an as-needed basis.  The board of directors meet’s virtually on a monthly basis except during the summers.  Minimally, a virtual all-member meeting is conducted in February. 

Last Updated:  8 September, 2021

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.